Leadership Failures

“Ninety-nine percent of leadership failures are failures of character.” Norman Schwarzkopf

When I first read this quote some time ago I wondered if 99% was maybe a bit of an overstatement. But as I’ve been reflecting on this I recognize that character is the foundation to all leadership. This is true whether you are the CEO of a major corporation, a parent leading your child or a friend caring for others.

There are a couple of foundational truths we all need to understand:

  • Leadership is influence – nothing more, nothing less.
  • Everything rises and falls on leadership.
  • Character is the foundation of leadership

Last week I introduced a blog series based on John Maxwell’s little book The 21 Indispensable Qualities of a Leader. Let me encourage you to join us in this series. I am looking for intelligent, passionate people to contribute to the discussion.

Click on the link and opt-in to stay current with the series:
http://www.toddmacpherson.ca/the-most-influential-leader/
21_Intro

I’d love to hear from you.
~Todd

Leave a Reply

